Government affairs

Legislative Updates

Leadership of House and Senate for 115th Congress begins to take shape

While there will be more shuffling up until the 115th convenes on Jan. 3, here is an outline of Senate and House committee assignments and leaders for the 115th Congress.

House of Representatives


House Republicans:

Speaker of the House: Paul Ryan (R-WI)

Majority Leader: Kevin McCarthy (R-CA)

Majority Whip: Steve Scalise (R-LA)

Chair of the Conference: Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)

Chair of the Republican Policy Committee: Luke Messer (R-IN)

Secretary of the Conference: Jason Smith (R-MO)

Vice Chair of the Conference: Bill Flores (R-TX)

Chair of the National Republican Campaign Committee: Steve Stivers (R-OH)


House Democrats:

Minority Leader: Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

Minority Whip: Steny Hoyer (D-MD)

Assistant Minority Leader: Jim Clyburn (D-SC)

Chair of the Conference: Joseph Crowley (D-NY)

Chair of the Steering and Policy Committee: TBD

Vice Chair of the Conference: Linda Sánchez (D-CA)

Chair of the Organization, Study and Review: TBD

Chair of Policy and Communications: TBD

Chair of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee: Ben Ray Luján (D-NM)


Committee assignments


Agriculture: K. Michael Conway (R-TX)

Appropriations: Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)

Armed Services: Mac Thornberry (R-TX)

Budget: Tom Price (D-GA)

Education and the Workforce: Virginia Foxx (R-NC)

Energy and Commerce: Greg Walden (R-OR)

Ethics: Susan Brooks (R-IN)

Financial Services: Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)

Foreign Affairs: Ed Royce (R-CA)

Homeland Security: Michael McCaul (R-TX)

House Administration: Gregg Harper (R-MS)

Judiciary: Robert Goodlatte (R-VA)

Natural Resources: Rob Bishop (R-UT)

Oversight and Government Reform: Jason Chaffetz (R-UT)

Rules: Pete Session (R-TX)

Science, Space, and Technology: Lamar Smith (R-TX)

Small Business: Steve Chabot (R-OH)

Transportation and Infrastructure: Bill Shuster (R-PA)

Veterans’ Affairs: Phil Roe (R-TN)

Ways and Means: Kevin Brady (R-TX)

Intelligence: Devin Nunes (R-CA)

Ranking Members:

Agriculture: Collin Peterson (D-MI)

Appropriations: Nita Lowey (D-NY)

Armed Services: Adam Smith (D-WA)

Budget: John Yarmuth (D-KY)

Education and the Workforce: Robert Scott (D-VA

Energy and Commerce: Frank Pallone Jr. (D-NJ)

Ethics: Linda Sanchez (D-CA)

Financial Services: Maxine Waters (D-CA)

Foreign Affairs: Elliot Engel (D-NY)

Homeland Security: Bennie Thompson (D-MI)

House Administration: Robert Brady (D-PA)

Judiciary: John Conyers Jr. (D-MI)

Natural Resources: Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)

Oversight and Government Reform: Elijah Cummings (D-MD)

Rules: Louise Slaughter (D-NY)

Science, Space, and Technology: Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)

Small Business:  Nydia Velazuez (D-NY)

Transportation and Infrastructure: Peter DeFazio (D-OR)

Veterans’ Affairs: Mark Takano (D-CA)

Ways and Means: TBD

Intelligence: Adam Schiff (D-CA)



Senate Republicans:

Majority Leader: Mitch McConnell (R-KY)

Majority Whip: John Cornyn (R-TX)

Chair of the Conference: John Thune (R-SD)

Chair of the Policy Committee: John Barrasso (R-WY)

Vice Chair of the Policy Committee: Roy Blunt (R-MO)

Chair of the National Republic Senatorial Committee: Cory Gardner (R-CO)


Senate Democrats:

Senate Democratic Leader and Chair of the Conference: Chuck Schumer (D-NY)

Minority Whip: Dick Durbin (D-IL)

Assistant Democratic Leader: Patty Murray (D-WA)

Chair of the Democratic Policy and Communications Committee: Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

Vice Chair of the Conference: Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)

Vice Chair of the Conference: Mark Warner (D-VA)

Chair of the Steering Committee: Amy Klobuchar

Chair of Outreach: Bernie Sanders (I-VT)

Vice Chair of the Democratic Policy and Communications Committee: Joe Manchin (D-WV)

Secretary of the Senate Democratic Conference: Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

Chair of the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee: *TBD

Committee assignments


Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry: Pat Roberts (R-KS)

Appropriations: Thad Cochran (R-MI)

Armed Services: John McCain (R-AZ)

Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs: Michael Crapo (R-WY)

Budget: Michael Enzi (R-WY)

Commerce, Science, and Transportation: John Thune (R-SD)

Energy and Natural Resources: Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)

Environment and Public Works: John Barrasso (R-WY)

Finance: Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Foreign Relations: Bob Corker (R-TN)

Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions: Lamar Alexander (R-TN)

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs: Ron Johnson (R-WI)

Judiciary: Charles Grassley (R-IA)

Rules and Administration: Roy Blunt (R-MO)

Small Business and Entrepreneurship: Jim Risch (R-ID)

Veterans’ Affairs: Johnny Isakson (R-GA)

Indian Affairs: John Hoeven (R-ND)

Select Intelligence: Ricard Burr (R-NC)

Special Aging: Susan Collins (R-ME)

Ranking Members:

Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry: Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

Appropriations:  Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

Armed Services: Jack Reed (D-RI)

Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs: Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

Budget: Bernie Sanders (I-VT)

Commerce, Science, and Transportation: Bill Nelson (D-FL)

Energy and Natural Resources: Maria Cantwell (D-WA)

Environment and Public Works: Tom Carper (D-DE)

Finance: Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Foreign Relations: Benjamin Cardin (D-MD)

Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions: Patty Murray (D-WA)

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs: Claire McCaskill (D-MO)

Judiciary: Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)

Rules and Administration: Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Small Business and Entrepreneurship: Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)

Veterans’ Affairs: Jon Tester (D-MT)

Indian Affairs: Tom Udall (D-NM)

Select Intelligence: Mark Warner (D-VA)

Special Aging: Bob Casey (D-PA)

Return to Legislative Updates


The free NALC apps for smartphones provide convenient access to tools and information about issues affecting active and retired letter carriers. Information on downloading and using the apps is in our apps section.