Government affairs

Legislative Updates

Senate Committee Advances Moak, Zollars Nominations

Today, the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Government Affairs advanced several nominations including Lee Moak and William Zollars to serve on the Postal Board of Governors (BOG).

Both nominees testified last week regarding their views and approach it confirmed to serve on the BOG (read more here).

Currently, the Board consists of four governors including Chairman Robert Duncan, John Barger, Ron Bloom and Roman Martinez. Outgoing Postmaster General Meghan Brennan will be replaced next week with incoming Postmaster General Louis DeJoy. Ron Stroman, the former Deputy Postmaster General recently retired, leaving a vacancy that incoming PMG DeJoy is expected to fill. In addition, the recent abrupt departure of Dave Williams means that the BOG lacks a quorum making the swift advancement of Moak and Zollars important.

With Moak and Zollars nominations advancing the Committee today, the full Senate is expected to take action on their nomination in the coming days or weeks.

Return to Legislative Updates


The free NALC apps for smartphones provide convenient access to tools and information about issues affecting active and retired letter carriers. Information on downloading and using the apps is in our apps section.