Government affairs

Legislative Updates

Senate committee advances nominees to PRC and BOG

Today the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee (HSGAC) held a business meeting to vote on a series of bills and nominations. Included in the list of nominations were Ashley Poling and Ann C. Fisher to be Commissioners at the Postal Regulatory Commission (PRC), and Robert Duncan for his second term on the Postal Board of Governors (BOG).

All three nominees were reported favorably and the next step for their nominations will be full Senate consideration.

As letter carriers are aware, the PRC is composed of five Commissioners, each of whom is appointed by the President and serves a term of six years. Should Poling and Fisher be confirmed by the Senate, they will take the seats of Commissioner Tony Hammond and PRC Vice Chair Nanci E. Langley immediately.

The BOG consists of up to nine governors appointed by the President and may serve terms up to seven years. While the board currently has two members plus the Postmaster General and Deputy Postmaster General, it has lacked the necessary four governors for a quorum since 2014 and has not been fully staffed since 2010.

Duncan joins previously advanced BOG nominees Ron Bloom, Roman Martinez IV, and John Barger for full Senate confirmation.

NALC will be sure to keep letter carriers updated on the nominees’ advancements.

Return to Legislative Updates


The free NALC apps for smartphones provide convenient access to tools and information about issues affecting active and retired letter carriers. Information on downloading and using the apps is in our apps section.