News & information

6-day resolution re-introduced as Congress convenes

The 114th Congress was sworn in on Tuesday, and in the House of Representatives, Reps. Sam Graves (R-MO) and Gerry Connolly (D-VA) wasted no time in renewing their commitment to preserving six-day mail delivery by quickly introducing H.Res. 12.

One of the first pieces of legislation introduced in this session of Congress, H.Res. 12 is identical to previous sessions’ resolutions that called on Congress and the Postal Service to take all appropriate steps to continue six-day mail delivery.

The current resolution already has 45 co-sponsors (see below). The last version, introduced early in the 113th Congress (2013-2014), wound up with 228 co-sponsors from both political parties.

“We are encouraged to see our friends in Congress once again take up the fight to maintain Saturday mail delivery service,” NALC President Fredric Rolando said. “We hope that the rest of the members of the House and Senate see any attempts to eliminate this or any other postal service for what they truly are: short-sighted excuses for failing to address an onerous pre-funding mandate that perpetuates a cut-cut-cut mentality.

“Maintaining six-day mail delivery service meets the demands of American households and businesses,” Rolando said. “We applaud Congressmen Graves and Connolly for leading the effort to preserve this service.”

Click here for a fact sheet that supports this resolution.

Early co-sponsors of H.Res. 12:

Bishop, S. (D-Ga.) Hanna (R-N.Y.) Pocan (D-Wis.)
Blumenauer (D-Ore.) Hastings (D-Fla.) Ruiz (D-Calif.)
Brown, C. (D-Fla.) Higgins (D-N.Y.) Sanchez, Linda (D-Calif.)
Butterfield (D-N.C.) Hinojosa (D-Texas) Schakowsky (D-Ill.)
Cartwright (D-Pa.) Johnson, E. (D-Texas) Schiff, A. (D-Calif.)
Chu (D-Calif.) Kaptur (D-Ohio) Schock (R-Ill.)
Cicilline (D-R.I.) Keating (D-Mass.) Schrader (D-Ore.)
Cleaver (D-Mo.) King, P. (R-N.Y.) Scott, D. (D-Ga.)
Connolly (D-Va.) Kirkpatrick (D-Ariz.) Sewell (D-Ala.)
Cook (R-Calif.) Kuster (D-N.H.) Sires (D-N.J.)
Costa (D-Calif.) Lance (R-N.J.) Slaughter, L. (D-N.Y.)
Davis, S. (D-Calif.) Lee, B. (D-Calif.) Speier (D-Calif.)
Deutch (D-Fla.) Levin (D-Mich.) Thompson, G. (R-Pa.)
Engel (D-N.Y.) LoBiondo (R-N.J.) Tonko (D-N.Y.)
Esty (D-Conn.) Lujan Grisham, M. (D-N.M.) Tsongas (D-Mass.)
Fattah (D-Pa.) Meng (D-N.Y.) Velazquez (D-N.Y.)
Foster (D-Ill.) Moore (D-Wis.) Welch (D-Vt.)
Gibson, C. (R-N.Y.) Norton (D-D.C.) Wilson, F. (D-Fla.)
Green, G. (D-Texas) Pascrell (D-N.J.)  
Griffith (R-Va.) Pingree (D-Maine)