News & information

NALC ballots to be printed, mailed

The National Election Committee, appointed at the Chicago National Convention to conduct the election of national officers for NALC, met on Aug. 17 to set the rules and procedures for the contested national and regional elections, as laid out in the NALC Constitution. It also was in Washington, DC on August 29 to hold the random drawing to determine the order of the names as they will appear on the ballot for each office.

Candidates for vice president, assistant secretary-treasurer, director of city delivery, director of safety and health, and 13 of the 15 national business agent (NBA) positions were unopposed and elected by consent at the Chicago convention. Two candidates were nominated from the floor for each of the following positions: president, secretary-treasurer, director of life insurance, director of health benefits, director of retired members, and NBAs for Regions 1 and 9. Three candidates were nominated from the floor for the position of executive vice president. Six candidates were nominated from the floor for three national trustee positions.

The election will be conducted by mail ballot in accordance with the NALC Constitution. The Election Committee has retained the services of Survey and Ballot Systems of Eden Prairie, MN, to tabulate the ballots. The committee has also retained Mosaic, a print communications company located in Cheverly, MD, to prepare and mail the ballots.

The committee will create the ballot for mailing. Official election instructions will be included with all ballots mailed to eligible NALC members.

To be eligible to vote, a person must be a regular member of NALC and in good standing as of June 1, 2022. NBAs will be elected by the members in their respective regions.

Beginning on Sept. 19 and continuing until completion, components of the election mailing will be printed. Starting on Sept. 26 and continuing through Sept. 30, ballots will be prepared, inserted into envelopes and mailed.

Any active or retired member who does not receive a ballot by Oct. 7 is instructed that they must notify their branch officers. Those branches are instructed to immediately contact the NALC Membership Department to request a duplicate, replacement ballot.

The deadline for branch officers to contact the Membership Department is 4 p.m. Eastern time on Oct. 11. Only a branch officer can request a duplicate ballot.

Ballots must be received by 5 p.m. Eastern time on Friday, Oct. 21, to be counted. The counting of ballots will begin the following day.

The results of the lottery selection determined the nominees will appear on the ballot in the following order:


—Brian L. Renfroe, Hattiesburg, MS Br. 938

—David Noble, Washington, DC Br. 142

Executive Vice President

—Maureen Valadie, Central Florida Br. 1091

—Kenneth R. Gibbs Jr., South Florida Br. 1071

—Paul Barner, Roswell, GA Br. 4862


—Cie Sharp, Long Island Mgd., NY Br. 6000

—Nicole Rhine, Lincoln, NE Br. 8

Director of Retired Members

—Linda Kellam Mann, Minneapolis, MN Br. 9

—Daniel Toth, Lorain, OH Br. 583

Director of Life Insurance

—William E. Boone, Greater East Bay, CA Br. 1111

—James W. Yates, Long Island Mgd., NY Br. 6000

Director, Health Benefit Plan

—Matthew Webster, Cleveland, OH Br. 40

—Stephanie Stewart, Central Iowa Mgd. Br. 352

National Trustees (three positions)

—Charles P. Heege, New York, NY Br. 36

—Lawrence D. Brown Jr., Los Angeles, CA Br. 24

—Dorothy Kay Hall, Wenatchee, WA Br. 1350

—Sandra D. Laemmel, Detroit, MI Br. 1

—Rolando Rodriguez, Indianapolis, IN Br. 39

—Francisco Jose Cabrera, Greater East Bay, CA Br. 1111

Region 1 NBA

—Markeisha Lewis, Garden Grove, CA Br. 1100

—Calvin Brookins, Van Nuys, CA Br. 2462

Region 9 NBA

—Eddie Davidson, Durham, NC Br. 382

—Don Lyerly, West Coast Florida Br. 1477

The Election Committee, as appointed by President Fredric Rolando, is made up of Paul Roznowski, Royal Oak, MI Br. 3126 (chairman); Christa Abraham, Minneapolis, MN Br. 9; Eric Lomax, Jamaica, NY Br. 562; Rod Holub, Manhattan, KS Br. 1018; Delano Wilson, Silver Spring, MD Br. 2611; Antonia Shields, Birmingham, AL Br. 530; Ethel Ford, Houston, TX Br. 283; Tom Dlugolenski, Syracuse, NY Br. 134; Jeannette Triana, South Florida Br. 1071; Brian Wiggins, Seattle, WA Br. 79; and Andy Weiner, Jamaica, NY Br. 562.