News & information

NALC election results announced

The National Election Committee, appointed at the 2014 NALC Biennial Convention in Philadelphia to conduct the election of national officers of the NALC for four-year terms, has announced the results of the election. NALC President Fredric Rolando and Executive Vice President Timothy C. O’Malley were re-elected following the nationwide vote.

Here are the election results, listed in ballot order; winners are highlighted in italics. Note that voting for the regional national business agent offices was limited to NALC members in good standing from the respective regions:

— Fredric V. Rolando, Sarasota, FL Br. 2148: 48,937
— David Noble, Washington, DC Br. 142: 12,841

Executive Vice President:
— Timothy C. O’Malley, Philadelphia Br. 157: 44,906
— Catherine Jones, Minneapolis Br. 9: 15,971

Vice President:
— Deidre Beal, South Florida Br. 1071: 21,331
— Lew Drass, Huntsville, AL Br. 462: 38,644

Assistant Secretary-Treasurer:
— Judy Willoughby, Tallahassee Br. 1172: 48,121
— Sharella Spikes, South Florida Br. 1071: 11,382

National Trustees:
— Lawrence D. Brown Jr., Los Angeles Br. 24: 46,268
— Randall L. Keller, Mass. Northeast Mgd. Br. 25: 37,610
— Eryca Bloom, South Florida Br. 1071: 24,368
— Brett Israel, Ft. Lauderdale, FL Br. 2550: 14,516
— Mike Gill, South Florida Br. 1071: 44,293

Region 3 National Business Agent:
— Tony Hutson, Springfield, IL Br. 80: 2,199
— Michael Caref, Chicago Br. 11: 2,870

Region 6 National Business Agent:
— Gary Smith, Grand Rapids, MI Br. 56: 1,491
— Patrick C. Carroll, South Macomb, MI Br. 4374: 2,989

Region 10 National Business Agent:
— Kathy Baldwin, Beaumont, TX Br. 842: 2,204
— David Pratt, Albuquerque, NM Br. 504: 1,047

The following nominees ran uncontested and were elected by consent at the convention on July 23:

Secretary-Treasurer—Nicole Rhine, Lincoln, NE Br. 8
Director of City Delivery—Brian Renfroe, Hattiesburg, MS Br. 938
Director of Life Insurance—Myra Warren, Dallas Br. 132
Director Health Benefit Plan—Brian Hellman, New York City Br. 36
Region 1 National Business Agent—Christopher Jackson, Garden Grove, CA Br. 1100
Region 2 National Business Agent—Paul L. Price, Portland, OR Br. 82
Region 4 National Business Agent—Roger Bledsoe, Oklahoma City Br. 458
Region 5 National Business Agent—Mike Birkett, Dubuque, IA Br. 257
Region 7 National Business Agent—Chris Wittenburg, St. Paul, MN Br. 28
Region 8 National Business Agent—Peter S. Moss, Gulf Coast Mgd., MS Br. 1374
Region 9 National Business Agent—Kenneth Gibbs, Brunswick, GA Br. 313
Region 11 National Business Agent—Dan Toth, Lorain, OH Br. 583
Region 12 National Business Agent—William J. Lucini, Philadelphia Br. 157
Region 13 National Business Agent—Timothy W. Dowdy, Virginia Beach, VA Br. 2819
Region 14 National Business Agent—John J. Casciano, Boston Br. 34
Region 15 National Business Agent—Lawrence D. Cirelli, New Jersey Mgd. Br. 38

To prepare for the election, the National Election Committee first held a teleconference on Aug. 8 to review the nominations for national office submitted at the convention, following the procedure outlined by the NALC Constitution.

Prior to that teleconference, National Election Committee Chairman Joe DeRossi, a member of Brooklyn, NY Branch 41, distributed the submitted nomination forms for review by the nine election committee members.

Upon examination, the committee determined that three nominations did not meet the requirements for certification under the terms of the NALC Constitution, and committee members voted unanimously to disqualify all three.

Those disqualified were director of retired members candidate Ken Ring of Minneapolis Branch 9, director of safety and health candidate Travis Lober of Arizona Merged Branch 1902, and national trustee candidate William Heller of West Coast Florida Branch 1477.

As a result of these disqualifications, the committee declared winners in two of the races for national office:

Director of Safety and Health—Manuel L. Peralta Jr., Garden Grove, CA Branch 1100
Director of Retired Members—Ron Watson, Corvallis, OR Branch 1274

The third disqualification left a field of five remaining nominees for the three national trustee offices.

The committee then met on Aug. 15 in Washington, DC, to set the rules and procedures for the election. It also conducted the random drawing to determine the order of the names as they were to appear on the ballot for each office.

The election was conducted by mail ballot and administered by an independent party, following the requirements of the NALC Constitution and the regulations of the U.S. Department of Labor and subject to oversight by the NALC National Election Committee.

Official election instructions were included with all ballots mailed to eligible NALC members.

To be eligible to vote, a person was required to have been a regular member of the NALC and in good standing as of June 1, 2014.

Preparation and mailing of ballots began on Monday, Sept. 29. Ballots were to have been received by 9 a.m. on Monday, Oct. 20, to be counted, with the counting of ballots beginning that day.

The installation of NALC’s 28 elected national officers will take place in Washington, DC, on Saturday, Dec. 13. Click here to find out more.

The National Election Committee, as appointed by President Rolando, is made up of: Brooklyn, NY Br. 41’s Joe DeRossi (chairman); Manhattan, KS Br. 1018’s Rod Holub; Birmingham, AL Br. 530’s Antonia Shields; Garden Grove, CA Br. 1100’s Barbara Stickler; Jamaica, NY Br. 562’s Andrew Wiener; Royal Oak, MI Br. 3126’s Paul Roznowski; Van Nuys, CA Br. 2462’s Calvin Brookins; Houston, TX Br. 283’s Ethel Ford; Central Florida Br. 1091’s Lynne Pendleton; and Silver Spring, MD Br. 2611’s Delano Wilson.

Click here to review the certified election results.