News & information

Senate Committee Advances USPS BOG and OPM Director Nominations

Today, the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Government Affairs (HSGAC) advanced the nominations of Anton Hajjar, Amber McReynolds and Ronald Stroman to the U.S. Postal Service Board of Governors (BOG) and Kiran Ahuja to be Director of the Office of Personnel Management (OPM).

The nominees testified before the committee last week (read more here) and received the support of all Democratic Committee members. Hajjar, Reynolds and Stroman all received support from HSGAC Ranking Member Rob Portman (R-OH). McReynolds and Stroman received support from Sen. Mitt Romney (R-UT), and Ahjula did not receive any Republican support. 

The nominees will now advance to the full Senate for a confirmation vote expected in the coming weeks. If the BOG nominees are confirmed, USPS will have a fully appointed board for the first time in years.

“NALC supports these nominations and encourages the Senate to take immediate action to confirm all of these important nominees,” said NALC President Fredric Rolando. “A fully functioning Postal Board of Governors and competent leadership at the OPM are critical for letter carriers and other postal employees. NALC is committed to working with these nominees to ensure that the interests of letter carriers are considered when decisions affecting them are made.”