News & information

Tangherlini and Kan confirmed to USPS Board of Governors

On May 12, the Senate approved by a voice vote the nominations of Dan Tangherlini and Derek Kan to serve on the U.S. Postal Service Board of Governors (BOG). Tangherlini’s term will expire on Dec. 8, 2027, and Kan’s term will expire on Dec. 8, 2028. President Biden nominated Tangherlini and Kan in November 2021 to replace John Barger and Ron Bloom on the BOG.

Tangherlini, who will serve as a Democratic BOG member, is the managing director of Emerson Collective, a private philanthropic firm. Until 2017, he was the president of SeamlessDocs Federal, a technology firm that focused on simplifying government forms and data collection. His previous government roles include serving as the administrator of the General Services Administration under President Obama and serving as chief financial officer at the Department of the Treasury from 2009 to 2013. From 2006 to 2009, he served the District of Columbia as city administrator and deputy mayor. He also served on the Biden transition team, with responsibility for the Postal Service’s Agency Review Team.

Kan, who will serve as a Republican BOG member, is an executive with Deliverr, a California-based e-commerce fulfillment startup company. He was the deputy director of the Office of Management and Budget from July to December 2020. From 2017 to 2019, he served as the Department of Transportation's under secretary for policy. He previously served as an Amtrak board member and as a general manager for Lyft. Prior to that, he served as an advisor for Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and as chief economist for the Senate Republican Policy Committee.

“NALC congratulates Dan Tangherlini and Derek Kan on their confirmations,” NALC President Fredric Rolando said. “We look forward to working with them and the rest of the BOG to ensure that letter carriers’ voices are heard when decisions affecting their interests are made."